Hi from Cumbria

Welcome & new forum members - Please introduce yourself & your motor here.
RedStormsson

Hi from Cumbria

Post by RedStormsson » Fri Apr 08, 2016 11:13 pm

Hi Guys and Gals,
my first post so I thought that I ought to introduce myself. I am the proud owner of a 1971 Series III Carawagon, now completely in bits waiting for the rebuild on a brand new Richards Galv Chassis. I bought 'Opal' twenty-two months ago and swiftly realised that I wasn't going to use her anytime soon; chassis poorly repaired, including a Defender bulkhead support replacing a Series part (???) and a crossmember that looked fine from below but was structurally unattached on tub removal! Work and weather (no workshop) means that the rebuild is sporadic to say the least but it is progressing slowly, the target is to have her ready by June 2017.
I have a fair background with Land Rover, 'Opal' is number nine spanning forty years but I'm no expert. I did think of creating a blog type thingy about the rebuild but it's been done 'ad nauseam' so I won't bother. However I welcome any 'tips and tricks' regarding the rebuild, excluding the usual obvious things like 'always have lots of beer available', 'buy your elastoplast in bulk' and 'don't let the dog lick your face when you're lying on the floor'. I've explained to Mrs. Stormsson that we will have to live in the Carawagon when it's finished 'cos all our money will be gone. She is warmishly enthusiastic about this based on promises of trips to places outlandish on completion. I did however point out that she won't have any more grass to mow when the house is repossessed and this has made her very enthusiastic about the rebuild. At the current rate of appreciation of tidy Carawagons/Dormobiles I think that the kid's inheritance will perform far better invested in a Carawagon than property anyway.
Thank you all for a fantastic site; it provides real support for Land Rover Camper sufferers. 'My name is Red and I'm a Land Roverholic'.